iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Foolproof relative humidity for drying/not wrecking red oak?

Started by IndyIan, May 25, 2005, 03:39:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

IndyIan

Hi Everyone,
I've just had about 400 bf of red oak sawn up to 4/4 and I don't want to mess it up.  I've stickered it and put it into the house I'm building about a week ago.  I put a fan blowing into the side of the pile and over night I'm pretty sure that all the lumber drove the relative humidity to near 100%.  I've got a dehumidifier going and now have a hygrometer set up.  How much can I drop the relative humidity with the temperature being around 65F with out degrade problems? 
I am trying to learn about how to dry this wood properly (:P all I can at the USFS website), but until I do is their a safe relative humidity to keep the room where the oak is at?  Dry enough to prevent mold but not run into checking problems?
Thanks,
Ian

Don P

I'm no expert but this time of year with fans on I doubt you need the DH for quite awhile yet  ???

Brad_S.

You need to turn that fan off ASAP. Hopefully, it's not too late. Oak must dry slowly, and the air across the surface this early in the drying stage will cause severe surface checking.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." J. Lennon

Den Socling

Since I was thinking about predryer settings in another thread, I'll suggest the same here. If your temperature is 65, you won't be removing water very fast. A humidity setting of 75% would keep the wood safe. And air flow doesn't cause drying. Air is the vehicle that carries the water. Heat is needed to evaporate the water and a humidity less than 100% makes room in the air to carry away the water vapor.

jimF

The standard schedule calls for ~85%RH at 110F and 400ft/min of air flow.  Much less than this mold will grow.  If you have bacterial infected, I have never seen a schedule that is suggested for it.

IndyIan