iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

comments on Mark Twain forest plans

Started by Greg, May 04, 2005, 11:30:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Greg

I got an email to send in my support for the following letter. As I am not a forestry professional, I don't feel real qualified to make a sound judgement.

I am curious what forestry professionals think of the following "action alert", in response to seeking public input to the 15 year management plan for Mark Twain forest in the Ozarks.

http://www.heartwood.org/alerts.php

A complicated issue, no doubt. Bottom line is USFS is pursuing an agressive thinning and logging program here, in efforts to restore forest health.

Seems to me there is a middle ground between aggressive harvests and "don't cut down a single tree". The USFS plan seems to lean heavily on the former option from my quick read...

Not trying to stir up trouble, but as a woodworker and a conservationist, just better understand the issues. Please share your comments,

Greg

beenthere

I would lean towards the professionals who have the same interests at heart that you do, and likely have studied the forest that they are talking about.
I have heard all too often where the 'guy on the street' and the 'judge in his chamber' have prevailed in forestry decisions that they know nothing about.
Let the trained foresters do their thing that they were trained for. They are not interested in overcutting the forest but instead managing it for the most good in the region where the forest is, as well as having a forest to brag about in the future.

Don't fear, someone will send a post card to a judge and put a stop to doing anything in the way of managing the Mark Twain. It's been happening for the last 30 or so years.

Off my soap box now. No offense to your feelings on the issue here Greg.  :)  Your concern is important, no doubt in my mind.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Greg