iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

"elephant man" redbud

Started by Daren, April 28, 2005, 08:58:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Daren

I am new to sawing and am still learning what I can about unusual wood charateristics. I have been watching a tree all winter that is the ugliest most deformed little thing I have even seen. It finally figured out what it is, it budded out (on the few limbs it has) it is a redbud. It has big bulges covering the whole trunk with little spiney things coming out of the bulges. For a redbud it is pretty big aroung for its height because of the deformity. What does redbud burl look like? Is it worth approaching the owner to see of he would sell me the tree? I will add I am a hobby woodturner, and have contacts with pro turners, I guess that is what has peaked my interest.
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

tnlogger

daren can you get a pic of it ? we have what we call a thorn tree down hear that looks like a red bud in the spring. But a very nasty tree  :D very hard on the tractor and bush hog tires.  not sure if its the same tree of not
gene

Daren

I can get a pic in a few days, I have wanted to talk to the guy anyway. It is a small town, people stop by for no other reason but say hello and we haven't met yet. It is a redbud for sure they have others, it is growing in a side yard as an ornamental. I kinda figure they are attached to the tree, like a three legged pup. But maybe not, they may be looking for a good home for it. I have thought some about talking to him and if he is willing my buddy has a tree spade I would replace it with whatever he wants.

Daren

I dragged this up from way back. I kinda let the subject drop and never posted a picture... cause the people ran me off when I asked about it. Here is the picture, and I have some questions.