iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

KD vs AD

Started by spencerhenry, March 04, 2005, 09:41:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

spencerhenry

this may sound like a stupid question but i have no experience with kiln drying. what is the difference between a piece of lumber that is KD with a mc of 10%, or a piece AD with a 10% mc?
99% of everything i mill is standing dead. the wettest logs i mill are just under 30%, with some logs as low as 12%. i air dry all my lumber. some like blue spruce can warp badly, but most engleman spruce warps very little. some aspen (typically wetter), warps bad also.
i live in western colorado which most of the time is like a desert. relative humidity in the summer is usually around 15%, and daytime temps are in the 80's with almost always some breeze. i think some of my 1x goes from 20% mc to under 10 in just a few days. how is air drying in an environment like this different than a kiln?

sawmillsi

Hi mate,

The biggest difference is the time it takes to get to 10%mc.

With logs, it is almost impossible to get them to 'dry' out 100%. In fact, even in desert Australia, the centre of logs will still have some moisture.

I would assume that you have taken a MC reading from the outside of the log? If so, remember one thing, unless you have probes that are insulated (except for the tip) you are getting an average moisture content reading from the length of the probe. And if the probe is only 1" long, thats the part of the tree that drys first. My bet is that if you cut the log open the mositure content reading will be much higher.

One of the biggest problems with drying fast (dosn't matter kiln or air) is if the timber gets 'case hardened' - this is where the inner part of the timber has a higher moisture content and this leads too deformities.

I think if you can air dry in a week or less (even 1 month), don't bother with a kiln.