iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New to the business, looking for some direction

Started by snoogins, February 04, 2005, 12:44:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

snoogins

Hey everyone. I just joined this site while searching on the internet and I must say I'm impressed. I feel I must give a little introduction to myself before I say too much more.

Currently I'm a student attending high school and it's my senior year. The last 5 years I've been in the landscaping business working for myself and will go to college next year to pursue a business degree. I'm an active FFA member and participate in our chapter's Forestry Competition Team.

I've been thinking more and more about getting a job working for a logger around here lately, mostly because I'm taking a forestry class in school and have been a little more motivated to get a job in the industry than ever before. I know I can't start at the top and I know it will take me a while to be allowed to fell trees with a saw, but what jobs can I do starting out? Is there anything I can do to "certify" myself? Manual felling would be ideal, I love running a saw, but I just don't know where to start out right now. I know a logging outfit owner personally and I'm hoping that there is some chance that he can give me a job. I've learned alot about forestry through school and FFA, but is any of that relevant to an employer?Basically I'm just looking for some general information and whatever you guys can offer me would be great. Thanks!

palmerstreeservice

snoogins,

Welcome to the forum!

There are many different avenues you can pursue as many on here will tell you, so I will tell you about the one I know most about.

If you look in you phone book under probably trees you will find a list of people who deal with them if you have already given the landscaping a try you may want to look into a Tree Service Company.