The Forestry Forum is sponsored in part by:




TimberKing Sawmills




Toll Free 1-800-582-0470

LogRite Tools



Forest Products Industry Insurance


Norwood Industries Inc.


Sawmill & Woodlot Magazine



Your source for Portable Sawmills, Edgers, Resaws, Sharpeners, Setters, Bandsaw Blades and Sawmill Parts

EZ Boardwalk Sawmills. More Saw For Less Money!

STIHLDealers.com sponsored by Northeast STIHL


Woodland Sawmills

Peterson Swingmills

 KASCO SharpTech WoodMaxx Blades


Turbosawmill

Sawmill Exchange

BRUTE FORCE Authorized Dealer

Woodshax Outdoor Vending Solutions

FARMA

Forestry Forum Tool Box

Author Topic: Lath for shakes  (Read 236 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PineHill4488

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Age: 55
  • Location: Northeast Arkansas
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm new!
Lath for shakes
« on: October 31, 2017, 10:56:41 am »
For 24" shakes with 8" reveal, how far apart do I put the 1x4 laths on an 8' by 8' shed that I am building?

I will have a 12" overhang on the rafters and the ridge board gives a foot on both ends, too.

I have the walls together and will use a 6/12 pitch roof, later today I put up the king post and ridge board then start cutting my first ever rafters.

Thanks for any and all advice,
Greg
Fall 2013 purchased Stihl MS 660 and an Alaskan 36" mill, am happy with the setup, hobbyist not a volume producer, have milled oak, hickory, yellow pine, and power poles.

Offline BradMarks

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 529
  • Location: Oregon
  • Gender: Male
  • Foresters are TREE-mendous
    • Pacforest Supply
Re: Lath for shakes
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2017, 01:23:55 pm »
Been awhile since I did a tear off down to the furring strips (1x4) (20+ yrs).  But it seems if you want an 8" reveal, it would be 8", as you need to be able to nail down the next top course 8" above the previous one. Is it that simple?

Offline Brian_Weekley

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 634
  • Location: N. Stonington, CT
  • Gender: Male
  • I am Batman!
Re: Lath for shakes
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2017, 01:44:21 pm »
I'm installing cedar shingles on my walls (6 inch reveal) with lath at 6 inch spacing.  As BradMarks said, you need the lathe to match so you have something to nail into.  This is a wall instead of a roof, but I think it would be the same.



e aho laula

Offline Don P

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 3928
  • Location: Southwestern VA
  • Gender: Male
    • Calculator Index
Re: Lath for shakes
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2017, 02:03:47 pm »
Brian, how far up from the bottom edge of the first shingle to the first nail line? I assume that sets the centerline of the 8" spacing.

Offline Brian_Weekley

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 634
  • Location: N. Stonington, CT
  • Gender: Male
  • I am Batman!
Re: Lath for shakes
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2017, 03:14:44 pm »
Yes, you have to consider where the nails will be installed (about an inch above the reveal).  On my installation (with 6 inch reveal), the first lathe strip is flush with the bottom.  The second lath strip is centered at 7 inches from the bottom edge of the first shingle and then the laths are centered every 6 inches above that.
e aho laula

Offline PineHill4488

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Age: 55
  • Location: Northeast Arkansas
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm new!
Re: Lath for shakes
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2017, 09:11:39 am »
Thanks to ALL!
Fall 2013 purchased Stihl MS 660 and an Alaskan 36" mill, am happy with the setup, hobbyist not a volume producer, have milled oak, hickory, yellow pine, and power poles.